Another View on Knowledge Management

In my readings on knowledge management, I’ve been trying to convince myself that this is a good thing. So far, the best knowledge management I’ve seen has been the suggestion that small businesses put their knowledge or expertise into a coherent format and publish it as a source of residual income.

I came across this article while I was cleaning out two months worth of emails last week. For all the people singing the praises of knowledge management, it was really nice to find this article. It was nice to see someone who has been watching the field of knowledge management grow to its current state agree with me that it’s just not a feasible model in a business structure.

The author’s correct. Knowledge management tends to focus on the collecting and storing of information, theoretically so that everyone in the company can access this fountain of knowledge. As the author points out, this doesn’t do the company any good without some form of teaching and learning going on in tandem with the knowledge management database. In my own opinion, this only works if your people are sufficiently motivated to learn on their own, but that is really a topic best discussed in an online learning/distance learning discussion.

It’s just refreshing to know I’m not the only one who sees things this way.

Leave a Reply

