Bite-Sized Lessons in Recreational Courses

I’ve been slowly working on a collection of technique and project lessons in preparation for teaching jewelry making at a local craft store. It’s been a little challenging.

First, I’ll be teaching jewelry making, something I’ve never formally taught before. In the past, someone has seen me working on something and asked me to show them how. Now, I have to develop a series of skill-building lessons interspersed with project classes that will inform and develop creativity without overburdening the student.

One of the reasons I’ve always enjoyed teaching in informal settings like this are situations like this, although I rarely have an opportunity to develop scaffolded programming. I think that’s what’s making this such an challenge for me. I have had to sit down, consider the skills I want to teach, and then figure out how best to group and order them into a meaningful and achievable learning set.

For now, I’m limiting each class to two or three techniques. This may change after I see how my students cope with the knowledge and the time available (I have to remember to leave time for their class projects to be completed in class).

For fun, I have included a homework section that basically consists of encouraging students to practice outside of class with the intent of bringing in what they made to show off at the next class.

It’s been nice to get back into writing lesson plans, even with the challenging unit-esque element. I never really appreciated how much I have missed teaching until recently.

Leave a Reply

