The Development of Tagging

I’m still exploring the concept of folksonomies and tagging and trying to make sense of it all.This article on social bookmarking tools has been an interesting perusal in my readings lately. I’m still reading it, but I wanted to share it anyway.

What I thought was really interesting was that the first place I found this article linked. The post was talking about how some blogs are nothing more than link blogs, and I couldn’t help but think to myself, “Isn’t the origin of blogging in weblogs that were nothing more than link blogs because people wanted their bookmarks to be more portable?” We’ve evolved from these link blogs to blogs that may or may not link to some interesting piece of information and surround this link or main concept with personal reaction. Perhaps it would be worthwhile to see when, exactly, tagging entered the picture.

Found via elearningpost and Stephen Downes

Leave a Reply

