Counting Words

I remember in school when the length of writing pieces was set by number of pages with specific spacing and margin requirements. I was never very good at writing to the specified length because I tend to write in a very concise manner when I’m writing academically.

Now I’m out in the real world, and the length of writing pieces is in word counts, which I hav discovered is infinitely more challenging. Museum exhibition labels are any where from 50- 100 words, depending on location and purpose. Novels are a minimum of 50,000 words. Currently I’m working on a piece to submit for a Chicken Soup for the Soul book, and 120 words is apparently not enough words for me to dsicuss the topic in. I’m also working on a sidebar for Jeremy Wright’s upcoming book, and 200-300 words on a daily facet of my life is nearly impossible to come up with. (My first attempt was 67. My second attempt would have been 117, but I decided to see if I could add paragraphs and finally reached 219.)

Other places I’m considering writing for have word count requirements of 1500-2000 words. I’m almost not looking forward to it.

I love to write. I’ve been told I write well. But to force me to a specific length? That just really doesn’t work with my writing style!

Leave a Reply

