Dead Bunny Grammar

I don’t know if I shared it here, but I have become known as “Dead Bunny” by a writing student in my center.

It all began with a lesson on prepositions. I was using the bunny and the box to demonstrate what a preposition is. I used my hands to form said bunny and box. For the most part, the student got it, despite the fact the teacher was afraid she wouldn’t.

Recently, the same student was presented with an activity on compound predicates. She called me over and told me she didn’t know what to do. I started by asking her what a predicate was, and she looked at me blankly.

So, I gave her the brief explanation of what a subject and predicate are. She still seemed lost, so I reminded her of our dear dead bunny. The sentence, “The bunny fell off the box,” quickly became the means by which she understood subject and predicate. Since she seemed to have that concept well in hand, I changed the sentence to, “The bunny fell off the box and died,” bringing compound predicates into the conversation.

Amazingly, she got it immediately, and the teacher and I just looked at each other. We couldn’t believe how much grammar could be taught from a dead bunny.

Leave a Reply

