Grammar Myths

I spend an unwholesome amount of my day editing or guiding others in editing activities. As such, I have to remember all those lovely grammar rules drilled into my head in middle school. Now that I’m considering writing my own writing guide and grammar book, I really have to be on top of these things.

I found these non-rules very interesting. Especially the one about conjunctions. I don’t know about anyone else, but I was taught that you never start a sentence with a conjunction because they are connecting words. At the beginning of a sentence, you aren’t really connecting anything. The rule about split infinitives is interesting, too. I’d never really thought to connect it to Latin.

The next time you go to scold someone about a grammar rule, consider the concept behind it. Is it still a valid style preference?

Leave a Reply

