Flash Fiction

Recently, I was introduced to the concept of flash fiction. These are stories that take no more than 500 words to tell. Since one of my goals is to create thorough, yet brief copy for my jewelry pieces, I’m completely intrigued by this story design.

I spent probably three days trying to to conceive how a flash fic would work. Finally, I decided that it would have to be a scene. I can tell a single scene in five hundred words. I wanted to try my hand at writing a small scene, but just couldn’t seem to wrap my mind around anything. It felt like anything beyond what I’ve done in the past.

As I started thinking over my writings, I realized that was just silly. Nearly every single world sketch I’ve created for Endover is a flash fic. Then there are the Afterwords I’ve been writing for Yu-Gi-Oh GX. I purposefully set a goal of 200-300 words for those. Some of them are even remotely good.

I’m still going to be exploring this. Right now, I have this idea in the back of my head that I want to write three flash fics a week. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

