Creativity is Ageless

I often look at myself and feel like I’ve wasted the past few years of my life. Granted, there were reasons for a lot of what happened, but I still can’t help feeling that way. In my opinion, I should be somewhere else, living a different life. One where I am used to my full potential.

It turns out that while there are people who do hit their creative peak early, some of us just need more time to bloom. That’s a very comforting thought, in so many ways.

Knowing that it is possible to not peak until you’re older, it really helps take the stress off my own creative growth and development. It lets me let go of that need to be impatient with myself (a sure-fire creativity killer, I’ve found), that i can take my time and enjoy the journey of exploring.

For me, that’s one of the hardest things. I hate feeling like I’m not living up to my potential, when the simple fact of the matter might be that i’m just not ready to live up to it. If I can learn and embrace this concept, I think it will actually help my creativity grow even more in the long run.

Leave a Reply

