Creating Usable Sketches For Instructionals

I really ought to scan a sketch from my design notebook so you can all be dazzled by my artistic capabilities, but I’d like to keep you interested in returning to this blog so I’ll spare you.

However, I’ve known for a while that my instruction sheets really need and deserve to have accompanying illustrations. Having no access to any graphics programs beyond PSP and Photoshop, I’ve decided I probably should figure out how to draw good clear representations of my work.

My first attempt is working on sketching one of my favorite wire jig patterns. I’m finding that it isn’t entirely different from drawing Celtic knots. You start by drawing circles, and then outline the group of circles. It’s then just a matter of connecting the outline and circles with short strokes.

It’s proving to be an interesting, but necessary first step!

Leave a Reply

