I Don’t Know, Do You?

My teaching is marked by a combination of questions and peer teaching moments. I like to make my students responsible for their own learning, and I feel that the best way to encourage this is to help them draw on what they know and have learned. This develops their confidence level, and it can help those around them. I’ve often found that when my explanations aren’t working, another student can present it in a new manner that helps the confused student understand. It also benefits me because it adds a new way to present information to my arsenal.

Because I often teach using these two methods, most people don’t notice when I actually don’t know the answer to a question. They think I’m just creating a peer teaching moment, making me look utterly brilliant. When I get caught, I tend not to lose face because I’m fairly quick to admit I didn’t know. I look even more brilliant at that point for acknowledging my own weakness and being resourceful enough to not leave the inquirer hanging.

It occurs to me I do much the same thing in my leadership style.

Leave a Reply

