Get Inside Their Heads

I’m working on plotting out my NaNoWriMo project for next month, as some of my friends are. One of them has been at it for months now, and it’s been interesting to watch. One of the characters, a woman a little younger and a lot cooler than I am (who was somewhat named after one of my nicknames), even has her own online journal.

I had to laugh the other day when she started responding to my own journal. At first, we all thought her writer had simply forgotten to switch back to his own account, but it turns out that he’s working on finding her voice by taking her out for a spin in the real world.

It’s not the worst idea. Characters should be people who could exist in the real world; this is what makes them endearing.

Not long after Deb started commenting, I came across an article on dealing with difficult people [dead link]. It was interesting, because I realized that a writer could easily apply this technique when working on their manuscripts. Get inside the head of a character. Address the situation from inside the character’s head. If you’ve done your job well, your character has a different worldview than you.

Leave a Reply

