Learning How to Storyboard

So far, I’ve learned to create lesson plans for a traditional classroom. I’ve learned to create lesson outlines, material lists, and scripts for educational programs, workshops, and special events. I’m proving that I can outline papers like nobody’s business. I’m even proving that i can struggle my way through the art-dialogue layout style that marks creating a graphic novel’s script.

Suffice it to say, I know how to create a linear organizer for educational or writing experiences.

But I started looking at trying to turn some old story plans into a small online game, just to see if I could do it. I think the game plans alone take up several pages as I create the puzzles and the framework between the puzzles. I just have to start writing the script, but that will come after November. I’ve already got an idea in my head of how I’m going to combine the script and framework.

Then I thought it might be fun to reacquaint myself with PowerPoint by creating a slide tutorial for one of the math concepts I’ve already written an article for. Where is it hung up at the moment? On the part of its to-do list that says “storyboard”. I’m trying to learn the correct way to storyboard. So far, it’s been pretty slow, but it matches up with everything I figured out on my own, and really reinforces the fact that writing and teaching have so much in common.

It’s sort of fulfilling my need to develop educational programming.

If you’d like to see where I’ve started in my explorations, check these out!

Leave a Reply

