Writing Without Symbolism

I have a problem: I tend to compartmentalize myself. Very few of my skills actually spill into all the areas they should, the notable exceptions being teaching and writing.

This is a bit of a problem.

Over the past couple of months, I’ve slowly become more aware of this compartmentalization. I write. I write a lot. I watch cartoons. A lot of cartoons. I read. Mostly manga these days, but I read a lot.

When I read books or watch television and movies, I process the symbolism without a second thought. I find funny interpretations of symbolism where none was intended. I’ve spent a lot of my life studying mythology, symbols, and etymologies, so this isn’t terribly surprising.

What is surprising, though, is that my inner symbolist doesn’t hang out with my inner writer. At all. The one place where my inner symbolist really needs to be on his game, and he’s nowhere to be found.

I’m starting to incorporate heavy outlining into my writing process, so I’m going to make a concerted effort to deliberately plan in symbolism in my preparations. If I do it long enough, then it will start happening without deliberate thought, and I’ll look more like myself again!

(It now occurs to me that I’m not sure if I’m a symbolist or a symbologist.)

Leave a Reply

