The Teaching Cycle is a Bit of a Game

I’m spending much of this month working out the process for a game I want to include in my portfolio for grad school applications, and it’s causing me to do way too much thinking about this site and how I want to grow it over the next year.

Specifically, I got to thinking more about the specific structure of the tutorials and quests I want to develop for the site. You see, for the site to successfully accomplish my objective, it will have to be able to complete the whole teach-assess-reteach-reassess cycle on its own, without the benefit of human intuition. I’m not into artificial intelligence, but I think I don’t have to be to make it all work on a superficial level.

You see, I’ve been reconnecting with video games (oh, how I have desperately missed them!), and I’m learning something very important. Teach-assess-reteach-reassess isn’t something that takes place only in a classroom. In fact, it’s something of how nonformal and informal learning work. You pick up a skill in a game. You then apply said skill. After being killed repeatedly because you can’t get the hang out of said skill, you find the tutorial area of the game to practice the skill again, or you find a resource to explain the skill more clearly. Then you go back to the game and correctly use the skill.

It makes thinking about my game a bit more easier to plan out.

Leave a Reply

