The Narrative Voice in Nonfiction

I’ve been told I’m a natural storyteller. After the past couple of years, I’m not sure if I agree with that.

I’m feeling pretty lost in general, and I think my writing has definitely suffered because of it. Now that I’m focused on writing a process book for work and a math book to help kids struggling with math, I figure this is the perfect time to engage in some research, do some reading, and try to reconnect with my inner storyteller.

To start, I’m devouring books on building narrative into your nonfiction. So far, it’s been mostly about personal essays and memoirs. That’s all well and good, but I think they’re missing other ways that narrative can be used practically in a nonfiction setting. I think a well-crafted narrative can help draw in someone who might not want to be reading the material at all, or they can make the experience unexpectedly enjoyable to someone who wanted to read the material anyway.

I hope that as I search out more reading material, I’ll find what I’m looking for. I have no idea what I’m looking for, but something tells me it’ll seep into my brain when I’m not looking!

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

