Book Review: Beyond the Writers’ Workshop

I’m still wondering how, exactly, I made it all the way through this book. If you follow me anywhere that i may have mentioned this book, you’ll notice I don’t link to it. There’s a reason for that.

I recently finished Beyond the Writers’ Workshop: New Ways to Write Creative Nonfiction. I gleaned little more from it than some fun psychological structures to apply to characterizations. It was far less useful than the two creative nonfiction books I read before it, and the author spent most of the book talking down to the reader. The writing was overly cerebral for the topic at hand. It wasn’t very welcoming, and then advised the reader on how to make writing creative nonfiction unwelcoming for students from elementary school all the way through graduate school.

Do yourself a favor- read the other two creative nonfiction books I reviewed. Walk right on past this one. It will save you from gnashing your teeth.

Leave a Reply

