Interactive Fiction

Still pursuing my investigations into educational media, I recently started learning about interactive fiction and visual novel games.

Interactive fiction is, as its name implies, is a story you can interact with. Some of us may remember the choose-your-own-adventure books from our childhood; these are a simple form of interactive fiction. If you play video games, many of the epic story RPGs are also a form of interactive fiction.

If the reader can affect their story in some way, it’s pretty much interactive fiction.

From the writing standpoint, these stories are challenging. Depending on the format, the storyline has to be written in a way that can be read regardless of what order the reader encounters them, or it has to have multiple storylines running.

I’ve already been experimenting with the interactive fiction style through a game I have been working on off and on over the past few months. It’s been a bit challenging trying to play the “what if” game while driving the story toward intended conclusions. It’s really overworking my problem-solving capabilities, and I’m enjoying the challenge.

It’s also triggering all sorts of memories from my childhood. This isn’t the first time I’ve worked through these issues before. I’m just starting to wish I’d kept up the habit.

Leave a Reply

