Focus on Your Strengths

I have a problem. I think, because I’m smart and multi-talented, that I should be able to do everything. It’s kind of a funny problem, actually. It leads to my learning how to use things I may only use once.

Take, for example, Inkscape. I can’t draw to save my life. I can create composite images and basic pictures in GIMP, Photoshop, and PSP. But then I started working on the first Dead Bunny tutorial. I was bound and determined to do the entire thing myself. I taught myself how to use Impress (OpenOffice’s version of PowerPoint) through a really great PowerPoint book. I taught myself how to write a storyboard and a script. I tried to troubleshoot a problem in Impress too big for me to troubleshoot at my current level of knowledge. Then, I turned my attention to trying to create the few images I still needed for the tutorial.

I checked out a couple of books on Illustrator and armed myself with Inkscape’s tutorials and user manual. I then created a few very disturbing outlines of something pretending to be a bunny. (It turned out to be a cute alien…but I scrapped the little green man idea over a year ago!)

Needless to say, I probably need to find someone who is actually skilled at art to handle all my image needs so I can focus on planning and writing, my strengths. (I wonder if I can find an artist who would barter with me…)

A week ago, I’d have felt bad for admitting that, but something over the weekend changed my mind. Fabienne Frederickson’s latest newsletter focuses on growing your own strengths and outsourcing your weaknesses. It’s really a win-win situation for both you and the person you convince to work with you, plus you build a partnership that can lead to further collaborations.  She recommends making a list of your strengths and weaknesses, and going from there.

It’s okay to admit you can’t do something, but it’s not okay to let that stop you from doing what you want.

Leave a Reply

