Blended Storytelling

I’m not really sure when it happened, but I’ve become nearly obsessed over the strengths of blended storytelling. Maybe it took root when my best friend told me I had to start reading manga, and was encouraged when someone else loaned me Scott McCloud’s Understanding Comics. (I’m spending this week reading Making Comics and Reinventing Comics, both just as good, even if little of it pertains to what I’m actually interested in.)

Maybe something clicked when I was reading Beyond Bullet Points and trying to develop a video tutorial for Dead Bunny. (I really need to figure out what I can fix on that, and then decide what has to happen to fix the things I can’t fix.) I understand reading anything related to Richard Meyer’s Multimedia Principles can do that to a person.

At some point, I’ve become interested in how words and pictures come together to tell a story. The problem is: I can barely draw stick figures (If someone badgers me, I’ll try to remember to scan the collection and get it online.), so I can’t actually fully explore this on my own.

I know from teaching that touching on multiple modalities leads to more impacting learning experiences, and gives the student a better chance of learning the material. I get the feeling that’s my ultimate goal in trying to understand how the written word and art come together to state their message, but I haven’t had much of a chance to just sit down and think on it.

Leave a Reply

