My Favorite Quote

Having been completely unable to find my 100Bloggers sign-in information anywhere, I’ve decided to post here instead. (Maybe someone will find the post and take it in…) It occurs to me I tend to write my 100 Blogger-related posts from the blog not associated with 100 Bloggers. Heh.

Over at 100 Bloggers this month, we’ve been asked to share our favorite quote, and mine is a great one from Wayne Gretsky. I’ve seen it paraphrased a hundred different ways, but the way I have it down on a sticky note in my CD bag is:

You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.

I found that right before I moved out to Seattle, and I just loved it. It’s so true! If you never try, then you can’t succeed. It’s that simple.

Some of you might look at that and say, “Yeah, but if I don’t try, I can’t fail, either.” You people scare me. Honestly.

If you don’t try, then you don’t fail. But you’ve also robbed yourself of a chance to learn, to grow, to stretch yourself. You have more to gain by trying than you do by fearing failure, so you might as well just go for it.

Leave a Reply

