How to Tell a Visual Story When You Can’t Draw

I have no artistic ability.

Okay, that’s not entirely true. I can actually do a number of arts in a competent manner, but drawing has eluded me most of my life. I had brief flashes of drawing ability my freshman year of high school and my freshman year of college (odd coincidence). I can get the image of what I want to draw firmly fixed in my mind, but there’s a severe disconnect between my head and my hand. Now that I’ve developed a strong interest in blended storytelling and am trying to figure out how to apply that to Dead Bunny, it’s really annoying me.

Last summer, I started drawing stick figures for a fellow teaches. Initially, they just decorated notes I was leaving her, but they quickly became something else and they started gathering a fan base among the other teachers. My horrible little drawings were coming alive and telling their own stories.

The stories focus on this one little stick figure family- Mom, Dad, and Little One, a precious preschooler who loves to read. The family celebrates holidays and spend time together doing fairly typical family activities. Side stories away from the family have been reactions to various things going on. They’re starting to become my teaching assistants. I’ve even turned myself into a stick figure (although I don’t think I have that one).

I don’t have as much time to spend on them anymore, but they still dot my design notebook. If you want to check them out, they have their own section in my deviantArt gallery. But look quickly. My artist roommate is eying one of the larger stories for one of her future projects.

Leave a Reply

