Book Review- How to Write a Children’s Book and Get it Published

A couple of months ago, I put out a call for challenges from friends because I had a break in just about all of my schedules. One friend challenged me to write an action book for her very young son, but she wanted it to be something he could grow into.

The only children’s books I read these days are the basals at work, and I hardly ever read them any more. I don’t honestly know the first thing about writing for children. So, I started researching. I talked to people who work with children’s books, and I looked up websites that dealt with writing for children.

One of the websites recommended How to Write a Children’s Book and Get it Published, so I put it on hold at the local library and started reading some recommended picture books. It finally arrived last week, and yesterday I sat down and started reading it.

I realize that books like this are really written to target the person who is considering writing for the first time (which I’m definitely not), and people who are completely new to how publishing works (which I’m also not), but it was also outdated. For example, the author refers to the American Girls series and its three girls. A fourth (the lovable Addy) was just being developed. I think there are now six or seven girls, but I’ve admittedly lost count.

Someone new to writing would probably find this book, its exercises, and the appendices very helpful, but at my stage, there were few truly useful gems. I think I’m going to be better off with the websites I found and my small army of those familiar with children’s books.

All this, just to create a story for my friend.

Leave a Reply

