Tagging, Revisited

When I finally surrendered to the evil ways to tagging last year, I discussed part of what I was thinking (mostly in regards to organizing and playing music).

Now, I’m trying to bring some order to what I would call my workspace (others would call my PLE), and I’m really relying on tags in a way that I think reflects what tagging is supposed to be while making it very useful to me personally. I’m still thinking about how tagging not only promotes findability, but also how it promotes that rip-mix-burn mindset to look at what you have in a different light.

I’m also researching terms for the best fitting tag. Nuances can not only make all the difference in the world, but researching them can help develop and strengthen your own vocabulary. Synonyms, on the other hand, strengthen nothing but your sense of frustration when you can’t remember how you tagged something and sends you to the search box, completing defeating the purpose for the tags to begin with.

I still have a lot of work to do, but I think I’m finally finding a common ground with tagging and determining how it fits within my own organization structure.

Leave a Reply

