Fictional Me

One of my biggest problems as a writer is character development. I can get the C, but more often than not I either get the G or the O. (Usually, I get the O, but can’t find the G.)

For example, I can sort of start answering questions to define a character based on me, but I get lost when I start looking for that character’s goals. Then, I start trying to create obstacles, and I start worrying that the obstacles either aren’t obstacles or they’re too wimpy.

In my life, I’ve had obstacles. I’ve had plenty of obstacles, but I feel they’re either common obstacles or I brought them on my own head. To Writer Me, neither feels like it will garner much sympathy.

I’m also a Man vs Self kind of writer, and those really aren’t Man vs Self obstacles. They don’t feel like they are, at any rate. The problem is: I’m a fairly quick-study most of the time. Sure, there are things that elude me, and I walk away from them. I may come back and try again (with mixed results), or I may not.

In that case, am I looking at something more like this?

[new skill appears]
Fictional Me: [tackles and learns]
[slightly harder new skill appears]
Fictional Me: [tackles, fumbles, re-tackles, and learns]
[harder skill appears]
Fictional Me: [tackles, fumbles, analyzes, re-groups, and learns]
[boss-level skill appears]
Fictional Me: Great! [grumbles]

Maybe?

Leave a Reply

