Welcoming Communities of Practice

While it’s all well and good to practice and develop your skills, sometimes you just need to hang out with other people practicing your same discipline for camaraderie, commiseration, and feedback. I thought it might be helpful this month to share some of the online communities I’m aware of that welcome practitioners of any level. Most of my knowledge centers around the arts that I participate in (or have participated in), so if you know a good, supportive community that supports other skills and disciplines, please feel free to leave them in the comments.

Communities focused on writing

Communities focused on image creation (photography, digital art, visual arts)

  • deviantArt (dA actually caters to a wide variety of arts)
  • Flickr
  • I feel like I’m missing another really big one, but I can’t for the life of me remember its name right now.

Communities focused on video and media production

Communities focused on crafting

Communities focused on coding

  • GitHub (Someone told me you can also do technical and instructional writing here, but I haven’t had any luck proving that.)
Leave a Reply

