Find Five Friday: Cross Media Edition

This week’s post is going to be a little unconventional. Instead of posting five links to things I’ve found interesting or learned from this week, I’m going to share what I believe to be my first crossmedia project (since I don’t recall the Future of Storytelling class actually having us make one).

If you’ve been following along on the blog this week, you know DigiWriMo’s writing prompt this week was to tell in a story in three media. It took me until I stumbled across my magnetic poetry Tuesday night while looking for some way to make the visual component of my story that I finally found a story to tell. Here goes:

Step 1: Start the story in your primary medium.

Well, my primary medium is text. Writing, more specifically. So I wrote a story. I was going to use the magnetic poetry to spell it out, and then realized that would be blending media, and that wasn’t the point of this assignment. Instead, I posted the story to Twitter around noon Wednesday.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.jsStep 2: Continue the story in another medium.

This was a little bit trickier. I knew I could just tell a story about this guy who has discovered taking selfies, but how was I going to create a video for it? (This was what led to the half dozen rewrites of yesterday’s post.) I soon realized I didn’t have to take a video. I just had to create a visual of this selfie n00b. And what better way to do it than to create his selfie? (One small problem: Small art mannequins don’t have as much mobility as would be helpful sometimes.) I posted this to Instagram Wednesday afternoon.

Tell the truth. Does this selfie make me look brooding and complex? #digiwrimo #crossmedia

A photo posted by Rebecca Thomas (@kirylin) on Nov 5, 2014 at 2:04pm PST

//platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

Step 3: Continue the story in the medium you haven’t worked in yet.

This one was simpler…sort of… All I had to do was write a quick story and record it. I have experience doing both, so it should have been relatively easy. Except it was pouring Wednesday morning, and I had to wait for it to let up enough to not be heard in my recording space. (I learned this lesson the hard way in Seattle.) Originally, I had thought to just tell a larger story about this character, but then I thought it might be fun to have an outside voice share their feelings on watching this character’s descent into selfie lunacy. I posted this to SoundCloud Wednesday evening. (Hopefully, this will post correctly. The preview’s not working.)

And there you have it, a brief story about a character discovering selfies and the friend who just wants to help, told across three platforms. Ta-da! I hope you enjoyed it.//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Leave a Reply

