Friday Five – Audio Resources Edition

My apologies for being absent in the Friday Five department last week. It turns out moving on isn’t always the easiest process.

But I’ve been spending a lot of time around audio-related resources (a side effect of getting involved with voiceover) and thought you guys might enjoy some of these things. They come in a variety of forms and usefulness.

1. The Master Handbook of Acoustics. I wish I could remember who suggested this. It may have been Mike Rugnetta on his Reasonably Sound podcast, but I honestly can’t remember. In many ways, it reminds me of Why Does e=mc2?, in that it’s a very accessible educational resource…just for sound rather than relativity. I knew some of this already, and I’m learning a lot. It goes through various aspects of sound production and listening, and provides a lot of visuals and case studies to help illustrate his points.

2. Reasonably Sound. I did not know this, but apparently PBS Idea Channel‘s Mike Rugnetta did sound design back in the day. (I say that jokingly, as I believe he’s roughly a decade younger than me.) And he has this podcast that explores various aspects on sound production and usage. It’s been really interesting, and if you have any interest in sound, be it creation, design, or just listening, I highly recommend it.

3. “How to Create Soundscapes” (Audio Drama Production PodcastFor all the time I spend listening to things (this is actually how I became a voice chaser as a kid), I don’t really pay much attention to what’s going on. It’s a sad thing to admit. But between the background noises woven into Pottermore chapters and suggestions in Mary Robinette Kowal’s Reading Aloud Archive on using left-right balance in audiobook narration, I’ve started thinking about how sound creates a world. And this episode is a great look at how that works on a practical level in an audio story.

4. Tabletop Audio. This is a cool resource of background audio designed to accompany game sessions. I’ve known people who have slaved for hours trying to put together the right music mix for game sessions they were running, and they would probably drool all over this archive. I’ve been listening to them while I read this week (oddly appropriate while reading a book on acoustics), and I’m really enjoying them.

5. Pocket Film School. This has virtually nothing to do with audio or voiceover, but it’s this charming little YouTube series I stumbled across a week or so back and am really enjoying. I do still intend to eventually make my first Vine and other short film-style media in my attempts to make myself worthy enough to hang out with those who create digital storytelling projects (since it is no longer cool to say “transmedia”).

So, there you go. Five resources my inner voice actor and aspiring producer have recently found interesting. Maybe others of you will, too.

Leave a Reply

