Friday Five: Learn About Voiceover Edition

Since I’m sharing things about my own studies and work, I thought I might share some of my favorite resources for learning about voiceover. I’ve done voiceover work for a few years now in a few different genres, and so my collection of preferred learning resources has changed accordingly. These five are the ones I’m currently hooked on. The list may be completely different a month from now.

1. Voice Acting Mastery – Veteran voice actor Crispin Freeman started this podcast as a resource for those wanting to learn about voice acting. He covers not only tips, but also his own journey as a voice actor, things he is learning, and interviews with other veteran voice actors to give different perspectives on the industry.

2. Bill DeWees on YouTube – In what he calls “DeWees Directives”, Bill DeWees shares great tips with the charm and ease of someone who has been teaching forever. The tips are simple, and presented to encourage viewers to try them out to see how they work.

3. Audio Drama Production Podcast – I don’t have any burning desire to create my own audio drama, but I have always found it useful to know how all parts of a system work so I can better understand and execute my role in it. ADPP, based out of Scotland, has given me just that. Audio Drama veterans Robert Cudmore and Matthew McLean share tips and anecdotes from the trenches, and periodically interview other audio drama producers, again to provide different perspectives on the field.

4. VO Buzz Weekly – Once locked up in their own app, Chuck Duran and Stacy J. Aswad now have a YouTube channel (that is filling up with all of the back episodes) where they interview veterans of all different aspects of the voiceover world. The interviews are fun and informative, and well worth catching up on. (I still have to figure out exactly where I stopped on the site and start watching the ones I’ve missed.)

5. The Readaloud Archive – Author and puppeteer Mary Robinette Kowal created this archive of blog posts a few years ago where she shares her training and experience as a performer and narrator to provide tips and tricks for reading written work aloud. (I still have some of them bookmarked because I’m working on those skills.)

I’ve found all of these invaluable, and hopefully you will, too.

Leave a Reply

